Haigh Hall 3.7M

Wednesday, 11th May 2016

A 24-strong squad of Blue Vests ensured Bolton’s lead in the CLGP’s A and B Team standings increased after the fourth round in tonight’s warm conditions.

P1090092asm Tom Carson (20:13), working his way back to fitness and ahead of a triathlon this weekend, led the team in silver at Haigh Hall, just behind Leigh’s Neil Pendlebury (19:45). The course, previously used for Wigan Phoenix’s relay races some years ago, was in use due to building works on the usual 4M route. Its 3.7 miles was a ‘reverse Rivi Pike’ – descent for 1.7 miles with an uphill return after a flattish loop that included 200m of mud dodging. The profile suited John Knowles, always strong on the hills, who filled the other spot on podium (and was first M40!) and Nicky Cartridge (25:12), who collected gold in the women’s race to maintain her lead in the series. Both the men’s (26 points) and women’s (40 points) race teams were eked into second by Leigh Harriers (23) and Burnden RR (16) respectively.

DSC_0197asmThe top 20 also featured Simon Dally (first M45 and 8th overall), a resurgent Chris Povey and Dom Gavin. Ken Fowler, first M60, led the B team as Dean Johnson held off Paul Mills by 1 second. The pendulum that is Bolton’s junior female battle this season swung again, as Olivia Kearney edged Rachel Bailey by 9 seconds, but also F50 winner Cathy Flitcroft. Also of note was Paul Trainor’s debut returning 23rd of the 229 field was of note, Hannah Darby representing for the first time this decade (!), Steve Houghton wearing the colours for the first time in nine months and Abigail Johnson appearing in the CLGP for the first time this year.

BUH&AC times: Tom Carson 20:13; John Knowles 20:57; Simon Dally 21:36; Chris Povey 23:09; Dominic Gavin 23:23; Paul Trainor 24:26; Peter Kearney 24:46; Nicola Cartridge 25:12; Stewart Brierley 25:24; Peter Walker 25:29; Ken Fowler 25:47; Dean Johnson 26:05; Paul Mills 26:06; Andrew Gallagher 27:17; Adrian Costello 27:23; Steve Houghton 27:38; Olivia Kearney 28:53; Cathy Flitcroft 28:58; Rachel Bailey 29:02; Simon Thorne 30:01; Hannah Darby 32:51; Abigail Johnson 34:21; Deborah Flitcroft 35:20; Gerard Tucker 39:22